The Literary Lion Award

Published On: November 18th, 2015

The Literary Lion Award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional dedication to literacy, reading, and the print culture in the State of New Jersey.

  • 2014, Joyce Carol Oates, Noted Author
  • 2014, Phyllis Anker, Member, Mercer County Library Commission
  • 2013, Pat Morris, Executive Director, NJ Connections
  • 2012, Marianne Gaunt, Vice President for Information Services and University Librarian, Rutgers University
  • 2011, Hon. Riletta Cream, Freeholder, County of Camden
  • 2010, Renee Swartz, Chair, New Jersey Center for the Book Presidential Appointee Emerita, Insitute of Museum and Library Services Trustee Emerita, Barnard College, Columbia University Chairperson, New Jersey State Library Advisory Council Chairperson, Monmouth County Library Commission
  • 2009, Wilma Grey, Director, Newark Public Library
  • 2008, Betty Turock, Professor Emerita, Rutgers School of Communication and Information, Past President American Library Association, Winner of ALA 2006 Lippincott Award
  • 2007, Gus Friedrich, Dean Emeritus, Rutgers, SCI
  • 2006, Eleanor Horne, Vice President, ETS Social Investment Fund